I love PTC, I use their software religiously. I defend them at all costs. I am a Pro/Engineer fanboy. I love latin. But… Creo?    C’mon Guys.

The name “creo” while very pertinent and related seems rather detached from conventional software-naming schemas. I realize that this may be the bleeding edge of technology, but you think someone would have said “really?”. I could swallow it if it were acronymous. I have already been trying to convince myself that it really does stand for something. Creative, Rendering, Engineering, Orientation?? The last one is weak. I’m guessing that some high level PTC exec was hung up on the name, and that was the end of it. Or the marketing guys just lost their minds. Who knows.

Name aside, the software looks extremely promising. The app based programs, and complete interchangeability of models through the different programs might truly be the second CAE revolution, although the pricing schedule for the different apps is not something I am anticipating.

Anyway, here’s the link to their page: PTC’s Creo